7 Comments

Great idea for a topic!

The best advice I've learned when it comes to using AI is to learn from good practice: make a good prompt, scrutinise, and sense check before using the output. AI will wildly hallucinate so we have to be very careful not to take it at face value. The best way to write better prompts may seem unusual - we ask AI for a detailed explanation what makes a good prompt and why and to give examples.

I find poe.com is a helpful tool where you can find and use a wide range of different AI bots. I use them as a second brain to assess ideas, to review my own content, to research options etc. Not to write!

Although the jury is out at the moment, I'm testing a tool called SwellAI (swellai.com) which takes video or audio and repurposes it for articles, social media etc. I am a little cautious to recommend, as it could be used to repurpose someone else's content. But I guess if people are going to steal, they'll find any tool to do that...

Expand full comment
Sep 24Liked by Jenny Weigle-Bonds

Like Serena I don’t use it to write but as a “second brain” - to expand on what I’m thinking. I’m a one woman community host so it’s helpful to have expansion on my own ideas. For instance ChatGPT now knows who my ideal members are and what the mission of my community is so asking her (☺️) to help me brainstorm topics for each month, then songs and a book related to each topic - I, of course, make the final choices and do the due diligence on info.

Time saver and sanity saver!

Expand full comment
Sep 24Liked by Jenny Weigle-Bonds

And “make a good prompt, scrutinise, and sense check before using the output” excellent advice!

Expand full comment
Sep 24Liked by Jenny Weigle-Bonds

I am a CSM for Orbiit (orbiit.ai) an AI matching tool great to promote curated connections in communities :)

Lmk if you have questions or if you want to learn more!

Expand full comment
Sep 24Liked by Jenny Weigle-Bonds

I utilize ChatGPT as a review tool. I will put in the prompt with the situation and ask ChatGPT to be my reviewer. It has been an excellent coworker by far.

Expand full comment
Sep 24Liked by Jenny Weigle-Bonds

ChatGPT: For overcoming "blank page syndrome," drafting an outline, as my angry proofreader, as a rewrite pal for my social media posts

Claude: As a stand-in for ChatGPT whenever OpenAI is feeling cranky, but less and less these days. The free version always seems to be overloaded!

Gemini: As a help agent whenever I have Google-based app questions. Occasionally as my research assistant

Perplexity.AI: Wow, this is my research workhorse. Gives me pretty darned reliable links when I'm looking for references to ideas. I use it both for personal stuff as well as professional research.

Google's NotebookLM: A newish one for me, but I'm looking forward to using it more as a smart knowledge base that can be queried or which can transform that knowledge into a podcast on the fly!

Napkin.ai: This is a sweet way to quickly create sharp infographics. It's currently free to use!

Pi: A personalized chatbot AI that I sometimes use for brainstorming. Great conversationalist.

Canva's and Miro's AI's have also proven useful on occasion, when I'm in need of an on-the-fly visual or want to organize my information in a board.

I'm starting to use Disco's AI tools for community moderation and course creation as well.

I'm sure there are a few more, just can't think of them at the moment!

Expand full comment

I gotta second the recommendation on Perplexity here. I love that it cites it's sources. These days I'm using Perplexity more than ChatGPT for drafting initial outlines for content even, again, just because of the trust I get from it citing it's sources.

Expand full comment